LABORATORY CHEMISTRY AND BIOPHYSICS OF PROTEINS AND ENZYMES

Research

Isolation and characterization of biologically important proteins, glycoproteins, peptides, glycopeptides, and glycolipides;

Conventional and enzymatic catalyzed synthesis of biological active peptides;

Photosensitizing and fluorescent dyes in red and far-red spectra region - synthesis and studies of their main properties as diagnostic and therapeutic agents;

Development of the so called photodynamic method, based on the photochemical processes, for inactivation of bacteria and viruses in clinical practice and ecology;

Fluorescent probes, based on the highly conjugated compounds, like phthalocyanines and derivatives, for study of the protein's structures;

Immobilization of biocatalysts, modification of natural oils and investigation of lipase inhibitors for medical and cosmetics purposes;

Isolation and purification of enzymes from microbial origin for nutrient and fodder purposes and cosmetics;

Preparation of technology for protein hydrolysates with designed properties for application in medicine and sport as food additives;

Application of fluorescent methods for determination of antioxidant activity of biological materials;

Production and characterization of novel materials (hemocyanins) for prevention of virus infection;

Evaluation of the antioxidant potential of natural objects by means of spectrophotometric and fluorometric methods. Investigation of the impact of the oxidative stress on the properties of connective tissue proteins. Modification of known methods for proving of dye substances and traces of leather in archaeological and museum objects for the purposes of the conservation analysis.

Laboratory members

Head:

Assoc. Prof. Maya Guncheva, PhD


02 9606 160
408
maiag@orgchm.bas.bg
Name Room Phone -mail*
Assoc. Prof. Maya Guncheva, PhD, Head 408 160 maiag
Prof. Pavlinka Dolashka-Angelova, PhD 403 163 dolashka
Assoc. Prof. Aleksandar Dolashki, PhD 417 155 adolashki
Assoc. Prof. Ivan Angelov, PhD 211 181 ipangelov
Assoc. Prof. Krassimira Idakieva, PhD 216 190 idakieva
Assoc. Prof. Lyudmila Velkova, PhD 403 163 lyudmila_velkova
Assoc. Prof. Miroslav Rangelov, PhD 201 161 marangelov
Assoc. Prof. Vanya Mantareva, PhD 211 181 mantareva
Assist. Prof. Dancho Yordanov, PhD 418 175 danchoyordanov
Assist. Prof. Yuliana Raynova, PhD 216 190 yulianaraynova
Assist. Boryana Yakimova 408 160 byakimova
Assist. Venceslav Atanasov 403 163 vatanassov
Alla Bynkova, chemist 418 175 allabynkova
Asya Daskalova, chemist 403 163
Dimitar Kaynarov, chemist 403 163 dkaynarov
Plamen Hristov, chemist 214 174 plamen62
Proletina Kardaleva, chemist 417 155 pkardaleva
Adelina Makedonska, technician 403 163 amakedonska
Nikol Zhelyazkova, technician 408 160

PROJECTS

SELECTED GROUP PUBLICATIONS(Q1):

2018

Metallomics,
10,
659-678
Interaction of Na+, K+, Mg2+ and Ca2+ counter cations with RNA